Remembering Our 1968 Hurling Heroes

Wexford Captain Dan Quigley makes a clearance as Eddie Kelly looks on

Tomorrow, Sunday May 24th, TG4 are showing full coverage of the 1968 All Ireland Hurling Final between Wexford and Tipperary, which finished up 5-08 to 3-12 in favour of Wexford.

Over the last couple of years WexfordToday has gathered some insights from players, and unfortunately we also reported on the passing of Wexford corner back, Tom Neville (R.I.P.).

The team consisted of Pat Nolan, Tom Neville (R.I.P), Eddie Kelly, Ned Colfer, Vincent Staples, Dan Quigley (Capt), Willie Murphy, Phil Wilson, Dave Bernie, Paul Lynch (R.I.P.), Tony Doran, Christy Jacob, Jimmy O’Brien, Seamus Whelan, Jack Berry (R.I.P.). Subs: John Quigley, Teddy O’Connor, Mick Kinsella, Neg Buggy, Jimmy Furlong, Pat Nolan, Mick Browne, Seamus Barron, Mick Jacob.

Management Team: Padge Kehoe (Manager), Ned Power (Trainer), Nickey Rackard, Nick Cardiff, Mick O’Hanlon, Tom O’Donoghue, Syl Barron. All have since passed away.

A civic reception was held in 2018 to mark the 50th anniversary of their great win:

Unfortunately only a few weeks after the 50th anniversary, Wexford stalwart Tom Neville passed away. Read about his career below:

Dave Bernie and Phil Wilson made up a formidable midfield partnership. Dave Bernie shares some of his memories in the link below:

Finally, back in December we were treated to some fascinating insights from full back Eddie Kelly:

Be the first to comment on "Remembering Our 1968 Hurling Heroes"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.