Wexford referee James Owens in charge of the final

Wexford referee JAMES OWENS will referee the All-Ireland Hurling Final for the second year. File Pic; WexfordToday.com

For the second successive year, well-respected and experienced Wexford referee, James Owens from Askamore GAA Club, will be ‘the man in the middle’ when Kilkenny meet Tipperary in  the All-Ireland senior hurling championship final at Croke Park on Sunday, August 18th.

The GAA has confirmed the referees and match officials for the 2019 finals, with James Owens confirmed as the referee for the senior final, while Patrick Murphy from Carlow will officiate in the Minor game between Galway and Kilkenny.

It will be Owens’ third decider at senior level, having previously refereed the 2018 final between Limerick and Galway and the 2015 meeting of Kilkenny and Galway.

A member of the Askamore club, Owens has also refereed the All-Ireland Minor Final in 2007, All-Ireland Under 21 final in 2008 and the AIB All-Ireland Senior Club final 2015.

In this year’s Hurling Championship, Owens officiated the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final between Cork and Kilkenny and two Munster championship games, Clare v Limerick and Waterford v Clare.

His umpires on the day will be James Dunbar and David Owens (both Askamore), Joe Kelly (Naomh Éanna) and Ian Plunkett (Marshalstown).

Carlow’s Paud O’Dwyer will be the standby referee. The other linesman is Johnny Murphy (Limerick) and the Sideline Official will be Liam Gordon (Galway).

Be the first to comment on "Wexford referee James Owens in charge of the final"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.