The Famine is over as Bob O’Keeffe Cup returns to Wexford

Wexford 1-23 Kilkenny 0-23

The famine is truly over as Wexford beat Kilkenny to win their first Leinster title since 2004, and the first time since 1997 to beat their arch rivals in the decider.

51,882 spectators witnessed a panicked Kilkenny side go for goals in the last few minutes, when clearly they could have easily taken points, Wexford soaked up the pressure to run out 3 point winners.

There was never anymore than 2 points between the sides until Mark Fanning’s converted penalty was quickly increased to a 3 point lead when Conor McDonald took a brilliant point from play.

Mark Fanning slotted home his penalty brilliantly, but the Gynn-Barntown kepper produced a fantastic save from Fennelly in the 42nd minute following a slip from Foley to let the Kilkenny man in on goal.

Wexford’s shooting was certainly more accurate than that of Kilkenny’s as the wide count was twelve versus three.

Wexford’s All-Ireland Semi-Final will be played in Páirc an Chrócaigh on the weekend of the 27/28 of July

Scorers for Wexford

Lee Chin 0-9 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Conor McDonald and Rory O’Connor 0-4 each, Diarmuid O’Keeffe 0-2, Simon Donohoe, Paul Morris, Liam Og McGovern and Jack O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny

TJ Reid 0-12 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Walter Walsh and Adrian Mullen 0-3 each, Colin Fennelly 0-2, Alan Murphy, James Maher, Eoin Murphy (0-1f) and Ger Aylward 0-1

1- Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown), 7- Shaun Murphy (Oulart The Ballagh), 3- Liam Ryan (Rapparees), 4- Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers), 8- Kevin Foley (Rapparees), 6- Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’), 5- Paudie Foley (Crossabeg Ballymurn), 17- Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien), 10- Liam Óg McGovern (St Anne’s), 9- Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Anne’s), 22- Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s), 11- Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers), 14- Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s), 12- Conor McDonald (Naomh Éanna), 15- Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s)


18- Conor Firman (St Martin’s) for Murphy (blood sub, 14 – 16)
18- Firman for Reck (49)
13- Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Éanna) for Morris (59)
20- David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy) for McGovern (65)
24- Harry Kehoe (Cloughbown) for McDonald (72) 

Be the first to comment on "The Famine is over as Bob O’Keeffe Cup returns to Wexford"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.