Cllr Malcolm Byrne reigns in Gorey-Kilmuckridge

GOREY-KILMUCKRIDGE MUNICIPAL DISTRICT COUNCIL 2019; Back Row; Cllrs Willie Kavanagh, Pip Breen, Diarmuid Devereux, Oliver Walsh, Anthony Donohoe, Donal Kenny. (front row); Cllrs Fionntán Ó Súilleabhain, Cathaoirleach Malcolm Byrne, Leas-Cathaoirleach Joe Sullivan, Cllr Mary Farrell. Pic;

Cllr Malcolm Byrne was elected Cathaoirleach of the new Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District Council at the annual general meeting held in the Civic Buildings, Gorey, this afternoon.
Cllr Joe Sullivan said Cllr Byrne had 20 years experience in local government and he got a huge vote – over 2,600 – in the local elections which reflects the support he has from the people, and he proposed him for the position of Cathaoirleach. Cllr Pip Breen seconded.
Cllr Oliver Walsh was proposed by Cllr Anthony Donohoe and seconded by Cllr Diarmuid Devereux, and acting chairman, Eddie Taaffe, put the proposals before the members.
Cllr Malcolm Byrne (supported by Cllrs Pip Breen, Malcolm Byrne, Willie Kavanagh, Donal Kenny and Joe Sullivan) was elected by 5 votes to 4 for Cllr Oliver Walsh (Cllrs Diarmuid Devereux, Anthony Donohoe and Mary Farrell). Cllr Fionntán Ó Súilleabháin abstained.
Cllr Byrne paid tribute to previous Cathaoirleach, Cllr John Hegarty, who he described as “inclusive and fair” and he wanted to continue that work.
He also paid tribute to former Cllr Robbie Ireton for great service to the community. “He was particularly passionate about his own area around Courtown.”
He promised to work together for the good of the enlarged district – the biggest district in the county – and embrace projects like the redevelopment of Market House, St. Waldrens, the Business Hub and the Town Park and the involvement of young people to a greater extent in the community and to make their input.
Cllr Walsh congratulated Cllr Byrne and wished him and the new members well in the year ahead, but hoped “Kilmuckridge won’t be left behind!”
Cllr Willie Kavanagh told the meeting he had travelled 27kms to represent his new district and he also hoped “Kilmuckridge won’t be left behind.”
Cllr Joe Sullivan is Leas-Cathaoirleach having been proposed by Cllr Breen and seconded by Cllr Kenny, beating Cllr Mary Farrell, proposed by Cllr Walsh and seconded by Cllr Donohoe), 5-4, while Cllr Ó Súilleabháin abstained.
Cllr Sullivan said he was looking forward to the working with Cllr Byrne as ‘team captain’, and striving to work and co-operate with everyone in the Gorey-Kilmuckridge district. Cllr Farrell wished the new council “the best of luck.”

Be the first to comment on "Cllr Malcolm Byrne reigns in Gorey-Kilmuckridge"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.