Cllr Sheehan is new Chairman of the Council

Cathaoirleach Cllr Michael Sheehan and the elected members of Wexford County Council at the annual general meeting.

New Ross Fianna Fáil Cllr Michael Sheehan was elected Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council at the annual general meeting held in County Hall, Carricklawn, today.
This was the first meeting of the new 34- member County Council elected at last month’s local elections.
Cllr Sheehan was proposed by Cllr John Fleming and seconded by Cllr Pip Breen and Cllr Frank Staples was proposed by Cllr Oliver Walsh and seconded by Cllr Anthony Donohoe.

CLLR MICHAEL SHEEHAN elected Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council. Pic;

A vote was taken and Cllr Sheehan emerged the clear winner with 19 votes; 8 for Cllr Staples and six members abstained.
Cllr Lisa McDonald (Fianna Fáil) is the new Leas-Cathaoirleach. She was proposed by Cllr George Lawlor and seconded by Cllr Barbara-Anne Murphy.
New member Cllr Bridín Murphy was proposed by Cllr Kathleen Codd-Nolan and seconded by Cllr John Hegarty. Cllr McDonald was elected and the voting pattern was exactly the same as that for the position of Cathaoirleach.
Cllr Sheehan and Cllr McDonald were both congratulated on their respective achievements, while tributes were paid to the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Keith Doyle, who was unsuccessful in the recent election and gave 25 years’ public service.
There are 11 new members on the Council; Cllrs Cathal Byrne, Aidan Browne, Jackser Owens, Diarmuid Devereux, Donal Kenny, Patrick Barden, Bridín Murphy, Jim Codd, Leonard Kelly, Maura Bell and Garry Laffan.
Members returned were Cllrs Kathleen Codd-Nolan, Barbara-Anne Murphy, John O’Rourke, Malcolm Byrne, Anthony Donohoe, Joe Sullivan, Fionntán Ó Súilleabháin, Pip Breen, Mary Farrell, Oliver Walsh, Willie Kavanagh, Michael Sheehan, John Fleming, Michael Whelan, Anthony Connick, Ger Carthy, Frank Staples, Lisa McDonald, Jim Moore, George Lawlor, John Hegarty, Tom Forde and Davy Hynes.

Be the first to comment on "Cllr Sheehan is new Chairman of the Council"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.