McLoughlin steps down as Wexford bow out

Wexford 0-10

Derry      4-16

Wexford bowed out of the Senior Football Championship following a very one sided encounter with Derry in Innovate Wexford Park on Saturday evening, and following the game Paul McLoughlin, in charge for two seasons, stood down as the Wexford manager.

The game opened brightly for the home side, points from Brian Malone and Conor Devitt, saw Wexford race into a 0-02 to 0-00 lead, but it was short lived as Derry rattled the Wexford net four times in the first 30 minutes.

Derry led at half-time 4-05 to 0-05, the second half was no better, at times it looked like a practice match, as the visitors ran out comfortable winner, 4-16 to 0-10.


Matt Doyle, Michael Furlong (0-01), Eoin Porter, Alan Nolan, Conor Devitt (0-01), Brian Malone (0-01), Martin O’Connor, Daithí Waters, Niall Hughes (0-01), Glen Malone, Ben Brosnan, Eoghan Nolan, Kevin O’Grady, David Shannon, Jonathan Bealin (0-01 free)


James Cash (0-01) for Nolan (24), Tom Byrne (0-02) for Nolan (29), Shane Doyle for Devitt (ht), Donal Shanley (0-02 frees) for Bealin (50); John Tubritt for Shannon (50)

Be the first to comment on "McLoughlin steps down as Wexford bow out"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.