Enniscorthy win away at Boyne

Leinster League Division 1A

Boyne             8

Enniscorthy 17

Enniscorthy continued their winning form when defeating Boyne in Drogheda last Saturday. Playing conditions were difficult with strong winds and rain. There was nothing at stake in this game for Enniscorthy as they are already champions but for Boyne the loss meant that they are now relegated to Division 1B.

Playing with a strong wind in the first half Enniscorthy found it difficult to break down a very determined Boyne outfit. The driving rain contributed to a lot of errors, after 25 minutes they opened the scoring when full back Richie Dunne grubber kicked through and wing Ivan Jacob won the race to touch down out wide. This was the only score in the first half.

After the break Boyne came out of the blocks early and kicked a penalty after 3 minutes to reduce the deficit. However, the visitors playing into the wind began to take control of the set pieces. With a dominant scrum they were awarded numerous penalties near the opposition line. Eventually they spread the ball out wide to find wing David O’ Dwyer who crashed over in the left corner. With 10 minutes on the clock scrum half Arthur Dunne, who had a fine game in difficult conditions, raced in from 15 metres for an excellent try. Ivan Poole converted to make the win secure. In injury time Boyne scored a well deserved try out wide. The missed conversion was the last play of the game.

This was a very useful workout for Enniscorthy. The newcomers to the pack Conal Kavanagh, Lee Treacy and Stephen Hadley all played well. Hadley in particular playing at Lock had a fine game. His partner in the second-row partner and captain Tom Ryan led from the front with a Man of the Match performance. Jim White who came on the wing as a replacement in the second half was very effective making some great runs.

Next Saturday Enniscorthy play Gorey at home the Ross Road in their final league match. As champions they will receive the League Trophy from the President of the Leinster Branch.

Conal Kavanagh, David Murphy, Paddy Waters, Tom Ryan (Capt), Stephen Hadley, Lee Treacy, Brian Bolger, Timmy Morrissey, Arthur Dunne, Ivan Poole, David O’ Dwyer, Killian Lett, Daniel Pim, Ivan Jacob, Richard Dunne.

Subs: Angelo Todisco for C Kavanagh (H/T), Jim White for I Jacob (50 mins), Alan Jacob for L Treacy (55 mins), Billy Wickham, James Doyle.

Be the first to comment on "Enniscorthy win away at Boyne"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.