Enniscorthy settles for Junior Cup runners-up

Ashbourne 16  Enniscorthy 11

Ashbourne RFC became the first club to win the All-Ireland Junior Cup Final three times in-a-row with a 16-11 victory over Enniscorthy RFC First XV at rain-soaked Edenderry today.
Ashbourne enjoyed strong wind advantage in the first half, but Enniscorthy made mistakes and paid the price on the scoreboard.
Daniel Norton touched down for a try after six minutes. Gavin Kennedy converted and the reigning champions from Meath took control of the game.
Two penalties followed and Ashbourne held the advantage when David O’Dwyer went over for a try on the stroke of half-time, but Ivan Poole missed the conversion, and Ashbourne were ahead 13-05 scoreline at the interval.
Enniscorthy played better in the first 15 minutes of the second half as Ivan Poole kicked two penalties, and the scoreline narrowed to 13-11, but Ashbourne regained the momentum and kept up the pressure to the very end. Ashbourne emerged winners 16-11.
Ashbourne had a prolific scorer in Gavin Kennedy and he was hailed Man of the Match.
The game was played in very difficult conditions with strong winds and pouring rain.
It was a disappointing result for Enniscorthy who twice won the Junior Cup in 2014 and 2016, and the focus will now concentrate on winning the league.

Be the first to comment on "Enniscorthy settles for Junior Cup runners-up"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.