New Ross and Coolgreany in All-Ireland Drama Finals

Two Wexford groups, New Ross Drama Workshop and Coolgreany Amateur Dramatic Society, are amongst eleven groups competing in the All-Ireland One-Act Drama Finals hosted by Kilmuckridge Drama Festival Committee next weekend.


The draw took place this afternoon at the Upton Court Hotel, Kilmuckridge, where the festival was officially launched by Cllr Pip Breen, representing Wexford County Council and Gorey Municipal District Council, who are amongst the main sponsors for the exciting weekend of drama, an art exhibition and other fringe events.
Cllr Breen said it was a pleasure to be present and he confirmed that Wexford County Council is happy to sponsor events in Kilmuckridge. He said it was a great credit to the village and people coming back to Kilmuckridge because of a good experience in the area and he paid tribute to the organising committee for all the good work they do.
The draw was supervised by Aidan Reidy, Chairman of the Amateur Drama Council of Ireland and Festival Director Michael Johnston.
Mr Reidy said he was delighted to be in Kilmuckridge and it was his second visit and he thanked Michael (Johnston) and his committee for taking on the task of running the festival. “Best of luck to all the groups and I will be back here again next week,” he concluded.
Chairman of the local organising committee, Liam Buttle, welcomed everybody to the launch and the groups coming from all over Ireland, thanked the sponsors and looked forward to a great festival.
“We have a fantastic line up of both plays and events arranged around the festival and we have our festival club nights,” said Mr. Johnston who outlined details of the groups performing following the draw just a short time earlier.
The large attendance included Deputy James Browne, T.D., and Cllrs Mary Farrell, Malcolm Byrne and Pip Breen while apologies were acknowledged from Cllr Oliver Walsh, and representatives from several local drama groups.

Names of the 11 groups participating in the All-Ireland One-Act Drama Finals were posted for the first time today.

The festival will be officially opened by Michael Stafford, Camross, at 7.30 pm. Performance begins at 8 pm.
THE LONG WET GRASS by Seamus Scanlon performed by Sillan Players (Confined Section).
BREATHLESS by John MacKenna performed by Prosperous Dramatic Society (Open Section).
THE LIBRARIAN by James Prideaux performed by Take 5 Drama Group (Confined Section).
Performance starts at 8 pm.
AUBADE by Mark Yeates performed by Bradan Players (Open Section).
SMILE HANDSOME by Liz O’Hanlon performed by Baileborough Drama Group (Confined Section).
THE GIANT KILLERS by Eve and Andrew Pearson Wright performed by Balally Players (Open Section).
Performance starts at 2 pm.
WITTGENSTEIN IN THE WEST by Stephen Toomey performed by Gunpowder Productions (Confined Section).
WHERE IS THE MALABAR by Liam Howard performed by Palace Players (Open Section).
SPECTRE by Don Nigo performed by New Ross Drama Workshop (Confined Section).
Performance starts at 8 pm.
MR FOOT by Michael Frayne performed by Coolgreany Amateur Dramatic Society (Open Section).
WHAT’S LEFT OF THE FLAG by Jimmy Murphy performed by The Moat Club Naas (Open section).
Final adjudication by Imelda McDonagh, announce the winners and presentation of prizes.

Be the first to comment on "New Ross and Coolgreany in All-Ireland Drama Finals"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.